Wave icon Icon in the shape of a positively progressing stock graph. Book icon Icon in the shape of a closed book. Wave icon Icon in the shape of a paper with pencil hovering over it. List view icon Icon in the shape of stacked list of images with text beside them Twitter icon Icon in the shape of a circle with the Twitter bird in the middle. Checkmark icon Icon in the shape of a checkmark Search icon Icon in the shape of a magnifying glass Tag icon Icon in the shape of a label tag Categories icon Icon in the shape of an item list Load more icon Icon in the shape of an arrow in clockwise direction Previous icon Icon in the shape of a left pointing arrow Next icon Icon in the shape of a right pointing arrow People icon Icon in the shape of a man's head and a woman's head Chart icon Icon in the shape of a pie chart with the top right quarter offset from the rest Minify icon Icon in the shape of four arrows pointing inward Facebook icon Icon in the shape of the facebook logo with circle around it

Vous trouverez ci-dessous des informations relatives au COVID-19 et des recommandations sur les pratiques à mettre en œuvre jusqu’à la disparition du risque.

Ces événements vont toucher votre pratique

Nous encourageons les praticiens à mettre en place les mesures suivantes jusqu’à ce que passe l’alerte :

  • Préparez un plan de communication pour contacter vos clients si vous devez reporter des rendez-vous, ou si vous songez à passer au counseling à distance.
  • Effectuez activement des dépistages par téléphone avant de prendre ou de confirmer un rendez-vous pour tout symptôme et antécédent de voyage pouvant être lié au COVID-19.
  • Demandez aux clients ayant de la fièvre, de la toux ou des difficultés respiratoires à prendre les dispositions adéquates, y compris un rendez-vous à distance ou de repousser leur rendez-vous à une date ultérieure.
  • À l’accueil de votre salle d’attente, placez des pancartes sur lesquelles sont indiqués les symptômes préoccupants de la maladie et demandez à vos clients de s’identifier s’ils ressentent l’un ou l’autre.

 

  • Assouplir les politiques d’annulation et de report des rendez-vous, jusqu’à ce que soit passée l’alerte (p.ex. renoncer aux frais d’annulation).
  • Mettez à disposition des mouchoirs, une poubelle et un désinfectant pour les mains (ou mettez en place un endroit où se laver les mains) dans votre environnement de travail.
  • Assurez-vous que les surfaces fréquemment touchées (comme les poignées de porte, les interrupteurs, les téléphones et les robinets) soient régulièrement nettoyées à l’aide d’un désinfectant, ou nettoyées entre deux rendez-vous.
  • Lavez-vous bien les mains entre deux séances avec des clients.
  • Cherchez à obtenir rapidement des soins médicaux si vous ressentez des symptômes et fournissez à votre fournisseur de soins de santé les renseignements nécessaires au sujet de vos déplacements.

Pratique privée – foire aux questions

Existe-t-il des avantages sociaux pour les employés qui ne sont pas admissibles à l'assurance-emploi?

Le 25 mars 2020, le gouvernement fédéral a introduit la Prestation canadienne d’urgence (PCU) pour soutenir les employés et les entreprises confrontés à des difficultés en raison de la pandémie. La PCU fournirait 2000 $ par mois pour un maximum de quatre mois. Cet avantage imposable est offert aux employés qui ont perdu leur emploi, qui sont malades, mis en quarantaine ou qui s’occupent d’une personne malade avec COVID-19, ainsi qu’aux parents qui travaillent et qui doivent rester à la maison sans salaire pour s’occuper des enfants malades ou à la maison en raison de fermetures d’écoles et de garderies. La PCU s’appliquerait aux salariés, ainsi qu’aux travailleurs contractuels et aux travailleurs autonomes qui ne seraient autrement pas admissibles à l’assurance-emploi (AE). Les candidats commenceraient à recevoir leurs paiements PCU dans les 10 jours suivant la demande.

La PCU serait payée toutes les quatre semaines et est disponible du 15 mars 2020 au 3 octobre 2020. La PCU remplace la prestation de soins d’urgence et la prestation de soutien d’urgence annoncées le 18 mars 2020.

Pour plus d’informations sur la PCU, veuillez consulter l’annonce du gouvernement fédéral en ligne: https://www.canada.ca/fr/ministere-finances/nouvelles/2020/03/instaure-la-prestation-canadienne-durgence-pour-venir-en-aide-aux-travailleurs-et-aux-entreprises.html.

Considérations importantes

Puis-je passer à une pratique électronique? Quelle plateforme devrais-je utiliser?

Si vous avez la technologie appropriée en place et les compétences nécessaires pour engager les clients dans un processus thérapeutique sécuritaire et efficace, alors la pratique électronique pourrait être une option pour continuer à offrir vos soins à distance.

Assurez-vous de prendre en compte des questions comme le consentement, la confidentialité et l’assurance responsabilité professionnelle.

L’ACCP a publié des lignes directrices relatives à l’utilisation de la technologie dans les domaines du counseling et de la psychothérapie en mai 2018. Vous les trouverez ici.

L’Ordre des psychothérapeutes autorisés de l’Ontario dispose d’informations sur la pratique électronique sur leur site web :

Standard 3,4 Electronic Practice *en anglais seulement

Electronic Practice Guideline (lignes directrices concernant la pratique électronique) *en anglais seulement

Si vous vous trouvez dans une province réglementée (N.-É., QC, ON, N.-B.), consultez le site Web de votre organisme de réglementation pour des conseils supplémentaires qui pourraient être fournis pour votre province en particulier.


L’ACCP ne peut pas recommander une plateforme spécifique car la technologie est en constante évolution et les options sont nombreuses. Cependant, nous sommes conscients que plusieurs praticiens considèrent mettre en place des services électroniques à court terme.

L’Ordre des psychothérapeutes autorisés de l’Ontario (OPAO) suggère aux praticiens de visiter le site web suivant: https://ontariomd.news/. Cette ressource inclut

une liste complète d’outils électroniques spécialement développés pour les « rencontres vidéo » et toute autre forme de pratique médicale virtuelle ou à distance. Cette liste fut mise en place par l’association professionnelle des médecins dans la province – Ontario Medical Association  –  ainsi qu’un partenaire de prestation de cybersanté– OntarioMD. Ils travaillent ensemble afin de soutenir les médecins offrant  des soins durant la pandémie.

Veuillez noter que l’ACCP ne peut attester de l’efficacité de ces plateformes.

Réactions à la COVID-19 : pourquoi sont-elles importantes?

De nombreux facteurs ont un rôle important sur la réaction des gens et des communautés face à la maladie et sa diffusion.

Certaines personnes ne réagissent pas assez face à la menace de la COVID-19 et pensent que le danger est exagéré. Ces personnes n’ont peut-être pas une bonne hygiène et ne restent pas chez elles si elles sont malades. Ce comportement peut propager l’infection aux amis et membres des familles.

Certaines personnes réagissent à outrance face à la menace de la COVID-19. Elles s’angoissent beaucoup et pourraient adopter des mesures extrêmes pour leur sécurité. Ces réactions exagérées sèment la panique chez les autres, car la peur est contagieuse.

Que faire pour garder son calme?

Écoutez les conseils des gouvernements municipal, provincial et national pour savoir si/comment le COVID-19 se propage dans votre région. Voyez les ressources ci-dessous.

Surveillez les sources d’information fiables suivantes :

Changez vos habitudes quand vous vous lavez les mains, touchez votre visage, socialisez et toussez.

Il est raisonnable d’être inquiet si cela vous pousse à être proactif et à prendre des précautions appropriées, comme rester chez soi, prendre des distances sociales, se laver et se désinfecter les mains et éviter les déplacements qui ne sont pas nécessaires.

Replacez les choses dans leur contexte en consultant des sources d’information objectives et probantes.

La peur est contagieuse. Si vous agissez sous son emprise, ou achetez des choses dans la panique, alors les autres réagiront aussi avec crainte. Vous avez une responsabilité à l’égard de vos proches, de vos amis et du reste de la communauté pour affronter l’épidémie de COVID-19 d’une manière judicieuse et raisonnée. Essayez de « mener par l’exemple ».

Où puis-je obtenir plus d’informations?

Conseils régulièrement actualisés par des sources fiables :

Comment puis-je dire si je dois chercher une aide professionnelle contre le stress ou l’anxiété lié à la COVID-19?

Cherchez les signes précurseurs comme :

  • L’anxiété constante, les inquiétudes, l’insomnie ou l’irritabilité.
  • Éviter les contacts sociaux sans raison au point de s’isoler sans aucune raison.
  • S’inspecter constamment le corps (p. ex. prendre sa température plusieurs fois par jour), ou chercher constamment à être rassuré concernant sa santé par les médecins, ses amis, les membres de sa famille ou par Internet.
  • Prendre des précautions d’hygiène excessives ou qui ne sont pas nécessaires, comme porter un masque à la maison, ou se nettoyer les mains à répétition lorsqu’il n’y a aucun besoin de le faire.
  • Consommer excessivement de l’alcool, des médicaments, ou des aliments pour faire face au stress.
  • Commentaires d’amis ou de membres de la famille selon lesquels vous semblez anormalement inquiet ou stressé.

Respecter la distance sociale

La distance sociale est un terme qui s’applique à certaines actions prises par les autorités de la santé publique pour enrayer ou ralentir la propagation d’une maladie hautement contagieuse et ainsi assurer que notre système de santé publique puisse continuer à répondre aux demandes qui lui sont imposées. La distance sociale est l’une des mesures les plus efficaces de manière générale pour réduire la vitesse de propagation de la maladie, protéger et préserver la capacité du système de soins de santé pour les cas graves. La distance sociale se résume à limiter les contacts physiques/en personne. Il importe d’entretenir ses contacts en utilisant d’autres moyens pour se soutenir mutuellement (courriels, téléphone, médias sociaux).

Les mesures relatives à la distance sociale comprennent : limiter les gros rassemblements de personnes; la fermeture des bâtiments et l’annulation d’événements. Des exemples de distance sociale peuvent comprendre : la suspension des classes ou la fermeture des écoles; la modification des heures de service; le changement des pratiques sur le lieu de travail pour autoriser les horaires flexibles et le télétravail; la fermeture des cinémas; l’annulation des grands événements en intérieur ou en extérieur (p. ex. événements sportifs, concerts, défilés, festivals); et la suspension ou la limite des moyens de transport.

Wave icon Icon in the shape of a positively progressing stock graph. Book icon Icon in the shape of a closed book. Wave icon Icon in the shape of a paper with pencil hovering over it. List view icon Icon in the shape of stacked list of images with text beside them Twitter icon Icon in the shape of a circle with the Twitter bird in the middle. Checkmark icon Icon in the shape of a checkmark Search icon Icon in the shape of a magnifying glass Tag icon Icon in the shape of a label tag Categories icon Icon in the shape of an item list Load more icon Icon in the shape of an arrow in clockwise direction Previous icon Icon in the shape of a left pointing arrow Next icon Icon in the shape of a right pointing arrow People icon Icon in the shape of a man's head and a woman's head Chart icon Icon in the shape of a pie chart with the top right quarter offset from the rest Minify icon Icon in the shape of four arrows pointing inward Facebook icon Icon in the shape of the facebook logo with circle around it

Below is information related to COVID-19, and recommendations on practices to implement until the risk passes.

This is going to affect your practice

Practitioners are encouraged to consider putting in place the following measures until the risk passes:

  • Developing a communication plan to contact your clients if you have to reschedule appointments or are considering a switch to tele-counselling
  • Actively screening clients over the phone before scheduling or confirming appointments for any symptoms and travel history that may be related to COVID-19
  • Asking clients with fever, cough or difficulty breathing to make appropriate alternate arrangements for appointments, including distance appointments or rescheduling appointments for a later date
  • Posting signs in your reception area identifying concerning symptoms and asking clients to identify themselves if they are experiencing any of them

 

  • Relaxing appointment rescheduling and cancellation policies until such time that risk has passed, e.g. by waiving cancellation fees
  • Making tissues, a garbage can, and hand sanitizer (or a handwashing station) available in your setting
  • Ensuring high-touch surfaces (such as doorknobs, light switches, phones and sink faucets) are cleaned with a disinfectant regularly, or even between client appointments
  • Engaging in proper handwashing technique between sessions with clients
  • Seeking medical care early if you yourself are experiencing symptoms and providing your health provider with information about travel

Private Practitioners – FAQ

Are there any benefits available for employees who are not eligible for EI?

On March 25, 2020 the Federal Government introduced the Canada Emergency Response Benefit (CERB) to support employees and businesses facing hardship due to the pandemic. The CERB would provide $2000 a month for up to four months. This taxable benefit is available to employees who have lost their job, are sick, quarantined, or taking care of someone who is sick with COVID-19, as well as working parents who must stay home without pay to care for children who are sick or at home because of school and daycare closures. The CERB would apply to wage earners, as well as contract workers and self-employed individuals who would not otherwise be eligible for Employment Insurance (EI). Applicants would begin receiving their CERB payments within 10 days of application. The CERB would be paid every four weeks and is available from March 15, 2020 until October 3, 2020.

The CERB replaces the Emergency Care Benefit and Emergency Support Benefit which were announced on March 18, 2020.

For more information on the CERB please see the Federal Government’s announcement online: https://www.canada.ca/en/department-finance/news/2020/03/introduces-canada-emergency-response-benefit-to-help-workers-and-businesses.html.

Important Considerations

Can I switch to electronic practice? What platform should I use?

If you have the appropriate technology in place and possess the array of competencies that are necessary to engage clients in a safe, effective therapeutic process, an electronic practice may be an option for you to continue to provide care to clients remotely.

Please ensure that you consider issues such as consent, confidentiality, and professional liability insurance.

CCPA launched guidelines for the use of technology in counselling and psychotherapy in May 2018. They may be found here.

The College of Registered Psychotherapists of Ontario has information to provide guidance on electronic practice available on their website:

Standard 3.4 Electronic Practice

Electronic Practice Guideline

If you are in a regulated province (NS, QC, ON, NB), check the website of your regulator for any additional guidance that may be provided for your province.


CCPA cannot recommend a specific platform because technology is constantly evolving and there are so many options available.   However, we are aware that many practitioners may be considering implementing electronic practice over the short term.

The College of Registered Psychotherapists of Ontario (CRPO) has suggested that practitioners visit https://ontariomd.news/. This resource includes a comprehensive list of electronic tools that were developed specifically for ‘video visits’ and other forms of virtual or remote medical practice. The list was put together by the professional association for physicians in this province – the Ontario Medical Association  – and an eHealth delivery partner – OntarioMD – who are working together to support physicians in providing care during the pandemic.

Please note that CCPA cannot attest to the effectiveness or appropriateness of these platforms.

Reactions to COVID-19: Why are they important?

Many factors play an important role in how people and communities respond to illness and manage its spread.

Some people under-respond to the threat of COVID-19. These people think the danger is exaggerated.  Under-responders may not practice good hygiene, and they don’t stay home if they’re sick. Under-responding could spread the infection to family and friends.

Some people over-respond to the threat of COVID-19. These people become highly anxious about the infection and may go to great lengths to keep themselves safe. Over-responding by one person seeds fear in others because fear is contagious.

What can people do to stay calm?

Listen to the advice of the municipal, provincial and national government if/how COVID-19 is spreading in your area. See the resources below.

Check trusted sources of information:

Change your habits around washing hands, touching your face, socializing and coughing.

Some degree of concern is reasonable if it leads you to be proactive and take appropriate precautions, like staying home or social distancing, hand washing and sanitizing, and refraining from unnecessary travel.

Keep things in perspective by consulting sources of information that are balanced and evidence-based.

Fear is contagious. If you act frightened or engage in panic buying, then others will react with fear as well. You have a responsibility to your loved ones, friends, and the rest of the community to deal with the COVID-19 outbreak in a sensible, reasoned manner. Try to “lead by example.”

Where can I get more information?

Guidance that is regularly updated from trusted sources:

How can I tell whether I should seek professional help for COVID-19-related stress or anxiety?

Look for warning signs such as the following:

  • Persistent anxiety, worry, insomnia, or irritability.
  • Needlessly avoiding social contacts to the point that you become unnecessarily isolated.
  • Persistently checking your body (e.g., taking your temperature many times each day) or persistently seeking reassurance about your health from doctors, friends, family, or the Internet.
  • Performing excessive or unnecessary hygiene precautions, such as wearing a facemask at home or repeatedly washing your hands when there is no need to do so.
  • Abusing alcohol or drugs, or overeating, as a way of coping with stress.
  • Feedback from friends or family that you seem unusually worried or stressed out.

Social Distancing

Social distancing is a term applied to certain actions that are taken by Public Health officials to stop or slow down the spread of a highly contagious disease, and ensure our public health system can continue to meet the demands placed on it. Social distancing is one of the most effective measures for reducing the overall speed of transmission, to protect and preserve the capacity of the healthcare system to care for severe cases. Social distancing is specific to limiting physical/in-person connections. It is important to stay connected to each other through other means to maintain our connections and support one another (email, phone, and social media).

Social distancing measures include limiting large groups of people coming together, closing buildings, and cancelling events.  Examples of social distancing measures can include: suspending classes in or closing schools, modifying hours of operations for services, changing workplace practices to allow flexible shift plans and telework, closing theatres, cancelling large scale indoor and outdoor events (e.g. sporting events, concerts, parades, festivals), and suspending or limiting transportation means.