

CCPA Board Meeting January 16, 2020 18:00 -18:50 (ET)

Present: Jen Rowett (Chair), John Driscoll, Kathy Offet-Gartner, Carrie Foster, Liette Goyer, Leah Lewis, Meredith Henry, Serge Hall, Cynthia Schoppmann, Nicola Sherwin-Roller, Melissa Jay, Blythe Shepard, Rabeea Siddique, Barbara MacCallum, Kim Hollihan (notetaker)

Regrets: George Maringapasi, Lori Rudniski, Andrea Garland, Siri Brown

Agenda

- 1. Welcome
- 2. Approval of Agenda
- 3. Approval of Minutes
- 4. Conflict of Interest Declaration
- 5. FY 20/21 Budget
- 6. RDF Application for Kairos Blanket Exercise Nicola Sherwin-Roller
- 7. CCC-S Revisions
- 8. Board Agenda Policy
- 9. Special Awards:
 - Humanitarian
 - Indigenous Practice
- 10. Committee Updates
- 11. Next Meeting
- 12. Adjournment

1. Welcome

• Jen Rowett wished everyone a Happy New Year and welcomed them to the meeting.

2. Approval of the Agenda

Motion: To approve the agenda as presented.

Moved by Serge Hall. Seconded by Carrie Foster.

CARRIED

3. Approval of Minutes

Motion: To accept the minutes of the November 23-24, 2019 Board Meeting as accurately reflecting the discussions and decisions of the National Board of Directors.

Moved by Serge Hall. Seconded by Blythe Shepard. CARRIED

4. Conflict of Interest Declaration

• John Driscoll declared a conflict of interest related to item #9, specifically, the Humanitarian Award.

5. FY 20/21 Budget

- A few questions were received from Board members during the review period and were answered by Barb MacCallum.
- Barb and Carrie Foster, Treasurer, were acknowledged and thanked for their work on the budget.

Motion: To approve the CCPA Budget for FY 2020-2021 as presented.

Moved by Rabeea Siddique. Seconded by Carrie Foster. CARRIED

6. RDF Application for Kairos Blanket Exercise - Nicola Sherwin-Roller

- Nicola Sherwin-Roller submitted a Regional Development Fund proposal for a Kairos blanket exercise in SK.
- Nicola conducted a member survey to gauge interest in the event as well as preferences for location and date.
- The event will be combined with a Presidential Roadshow visit by Jen Rowett and is planned for March 13, 2020.
- The requested amount is \$3,280 less registration fees.
- Costs associated with Jen's travel will be covered by the Presidential Roadshow budget item.
- Great initiative and great work, Nicola!

Motion: To approve the RDF for the Kairos Blanket Exercise in SK.

Moved by Serge Hall. Seconded by Meredith Henry. CARRIED

7. CCC-S Revisions

- Blythe Shepard reviewed the revisions to the CCC-S designation, as proposed by the CCC-S Committee.
- The revisions are in response to member feedback and aim to increase the number of CCC-S applicants and renewals.
- The revisions have been through the ball toss and approved by the Governance Committee, the Quality Assurance Committee and the Executive.
- Thanks to Blythe and the CCC-S Committee for reviewing and updating the designation.

Motion: To approve the CCC-S revisions as presented.

Moved by Leah Lewis. Seconded by Nicola Sherwin-Roller.

CARRIED

8. Board Agenda Policy

- The purpose of the Board agenda policy is to ensure ample time is available for the President and National Office to plan Board meetings.
- Thank you to the Governance Committee for proposing this policy and to the Quality Assurance Committee and Executive for reviewing it.

1 ABSTENTION

Motion: To approve the Board Agenda Policy.

Moved by Meredith Henry. Seconded by Blythe Shepard. CARRIED

9. Special Awards

- The criteria for special awards should be reviewed and possibly strengthened.
- The Awards Committee is asked to consider removing the ability to self-nominate for a special award.

Motion: To select Lisa Mader as the recipient of the 2020 Humanitarian award.

Moved by Nicola Sherwin-Roller. Seconded by Serge Hall.

CARRIED

Motion: To select Staci-Ann Loiselle as the recipient of the 2020 Indigenous Practice award.

Moved by Leah Lewis. Seconded by Carrie Foster.

CARRIED

Action:

• The Awards Committee will review the criteria for the special awards and send any updates through the ball toss.

10. Committee Reports

- The Governance Committee is meeting Monday, January 20, 2020 to review the
 following: the updated Code of Ethics, the Cyber Security Policy, the Elder in
 Residence protocol and the gender neutral language recommendation from the
 Quality Assurance Committee.
- Serge Hall will assume temporary Chair of the Quality Assurance Committee when Cynthia Schoppmann starts maternity leave in February 2020.
- There are no other Committee updates at this time.

11. Next Meeting

• The next meeting will be held on March 20, 2020.

12. Adjournment

Motion: To adjourn the meeting.		Moved by	Leah Lewis CARRIED
President	Date		-

Summary of Motions

Motion: To approve the agenda as presented.

Moved by Serge Hall. Seconded by Carrie Foster.

CARRIED

Motion: To accept the minutes of the November 23-24, 2019 Board Meeting as accurately reflecting the discussions and decisions of the National Board of Directors.

Moved by Serge Hall. Seconded by Blythe Shepard. CARRIED

Motion: To approve the CCPA Budget for FY 2020-2021 as presented.

Moved by Rabeea Siddique. Seconded by Carrie Foster. CARRIED

Motion: To approve the RDF for the Kairos Blanket Exercise in SK.

Moved by Serge Hall. Seconded by Meredith Henry. CARRIED

Motion: To approve the CCC-S Revisions as presented.

Moved by Leah Lewis. Seconded by Nicola Sherwin-Roller. CARRIED

Motion: To approve the Board Agenda Policy.

Moved by Meredith Henry. Seconded by Blythe Shepard. CARRIED

Motion: To select Lisa Mader as the recipient of the 2020 Humanitarian award.

Moved by Nicola Sherwin-Roller. Seconded by Serge Hall.

CARRIED

1 ABSTENTION

Motion: To select Staci-Ann Loiselle as the recipient of the 2020 Indigenous Practice award.

Moved by Leah Lewis. Seconded by Carrie Foster.

CARRIED

Motion: To adjourn the meeting.

Moved by Leah Lewis. CARRIED

Summary of Action Items

Task	Minute	Task	Date	Responsibility
Number	Reference			
1	9	Review the criteria for the	In advance	Awards
		special awards and send any	of next	Committee
		updates through the ball toss.	award	
			season	